Skip to main content


European Team Announced: Patsy Hankins Trophy

  • Nine of 12 players announced for European Patsy Hankins Trophy team
  • Seven players inside the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) top-50
  • Team Europe looking to win back the trophy from Asia-Pacific at La Manga, Spain from 3 to 5 August
  • Three more selections to be announced after the European Team Championships


The EGA is delighted to confirm the first nine players of the 2023 European Patsy Hankins Trophy team that will take on Asia-Pacific at La Manga Resort, Spain from 3 to 5 August.


The Patsy Hankins Trophy is a three-day match between the best female amateur players from Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. The contest, which parallels the Solheim Cup format, will take place for the first time in five years after the previous edition was cancelled due to Covid restrictions.


Selection for the team recognizes the players’ outstanding achievements in the amateur game.

The Selections

Helen Briem (GER)

Beth Coulter (Golf Ireland)

Savannah De Bock (BEL)

Cayetana Fernandez Garcia-Poggio (ESP)

Francesca Fiorellini (ITA)

Charlotte Heath (ENG)

Meja Örtengren (SWE)

Rocio Tejedo (ESP)

Lottie Woad (ENG)




The nine players will be joined by three further selections following the European Team Championships taking place this week.


Cayetana Fernandez Garcia-Poggio (ESP) currently third in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR), will be the highest ranked player on the team. The strong European side will also feature six other players ranked inside the WAGR top-50.


Helen Briem (GER), Savannah De Bock (BEL), Cayetana Fernandez Garcia-Poggio (ESP), Meja Örtengren, and Rocio Tejedo (ESP) all recently represented the victorious Continent of Europe side in the Vagliano Trophy match. Beth Coulter (Golf Ireland), Lottie Woad (ENG) and Charlotte Heath (ENG) also competed in the match for the Great Britain & Ireland team.


All nine players will be making their first appearance at the Patsy Hankins Trophy and will have the task of bringing the Continent its first victory in the match. The Asia-Pacific team has won both editions played so far since the inauguration of the match in 2016.

About the Patsy Hankins Trophy

The Patsy Hankins Trophy is a biennial match played between 12-player female teams from Europe and Asia-Pacific. The EGA selects the European team, while the Asia-Pacific side is fielded by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC).


The contest and trophy are named in memory of Patsy Hankins, a former golf administrator from New Zealand. Her legacy as a trailblazer in golf administration grew due to her long list of achievements and kind and gentle approach. From fostering the development of the women’s game to playing a key role in the joining of men’s and women’s golf, Patsy was incredibly influential and will leave a long lasting legacy in the game not only in New Zealand but around the world. 


The match takes place over three days. Five foursomes matches in the morning and five fourball matches in the afternoon are played on both of the first two days. On the final day, all 12 players complete singles matches. With 32 total points on offer (1 for a win, 0.5 for a half and 0 for a loss), 16.5 points are needed to secure victory. The format mirrors the Solheim Cup, except for one additional match in each of the four sessions over the first two days.


This year’s match will be the 3rd edition between the two sides since the event was inaugurated in 2016. In the last match, at Doha Golf Club in Qatar, the Asia-Pacific side dominated against a European team missing several highly ranked players.


The contest is played in parallel with the equivalent match for men, the Bonallack Trophy.