Skip to main content

About EGA

The European Golf Association is a non-profit organisation that was founded in 1937. It is an association of 50 National Golf Authorities in the European Zone aiming to promote the sport across the continent, strengthen the unity of its members, and coordinate best practice for the development and sustainability of golf.

The EGA has coordinated European amateur golf championships and international matches for elite players in collaboration with its member federations since its early years.

Today, the EGA organises over 20 international events (EGA events) each year including the European Amateur, Ladies’, Mid-Amateur and Seniors’ Individual Championships, the European Amateur Team Championships of all different age categories, and International Matches such as the St Andrews and Vagliano Trophies which are run in collaboration with The R&A. The European Championships (Individual and Team) for Golfers with Disability are also organised by the association, alongside EDGA.

The EGA is responsible for the oversight, implementation and administration of the World Handicap System (WHS) in Continental Europe as the exclusive Authorised Handicapping Body in this zone.

The association is primarily governed by 30 volunteer officials who form the EGA’s Executive, Championship, and Handicapping & Course Rating Committees. In addition, a permanent secretariat of the organisation is located in Epalinges, Switzerland.


The EGA commits itself to the spirit of golf and the cross-border harmony provided by international sport. Its primary objectives are to:

  • Organise European Title Championships and International Matches in collaboration with National Golf Authorities.
  • Foster the best opportunities for the best amateur players in Europe.
  • Act as the World Handicap System’s (WHS) Authorised Handicapping Body and to coordinate course rating in Continental Europe.
  • Act as the EGA Members’ official representative body to the European Union in environmentally sustainable golf and other legislative matters.
  • Encourage the bond between member national golf authorities for the betterment of golf.
  • Create and maintain relationships with international golfing organisations.


The EGA was founded at a meeting at Golf Club Grand-Ducal in Luxembourg on 20 November 1937 by representatives from 11 countries. The association quickly made a positive impact, facilitating the coordination of the dates for international events in Europe.

After promising early years, all the association’s activities were suddenly interrupted by the outbreak of the Second World War.

The EGA members met for the first time post-war in 1949. In the following years, the association continued to grow and establish its presence in the European golf community, facilitating small events between its member federations and early editions of international matches such as the St Andrews Trophy.

1959 was one of the most significant years in the history of the EGA, when the first official European Team Championships were staged. These events sparked the EGA’s dedication to organising elite tournaments which has remained a core priority until today.


The EGA’s event roster grew steadily following the success of the early European Team Championships, with similar events inaugurated for U21s in the 60s and the European Boys’ Team Championship for U18s in 1980.

In 1986, the European Amateur and Ladies’ Amateur Championships were introduced, and have grown to be counted amongst the most prestigious individual amateur championships in the world today.

Most of Europe’s biggest golfing stars represented their countries in the EGA’s European championships before turning pro, including Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Padraig Harrington, Jose María Olazábal, Annika Sörenstam, Suzann Pettersen, Anna Nordqvist and numerous other major champions and European Ryder Cup and Solheim Cup players.

More information about the the EGA can be found in our latest ANNUAL REPORT, or in our HISTORY BOOK.