Skip to main content


EGA Annual General Meeting Held in London

  • Caroline Huyskes Elected as new President
  • Assembly approves extension to the EGA’s remit in sustainable golf
  • Kosovo Golf Federation becomes 50th EGA member
  • Four new Executive Committee Members elected


The EGA’s 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place in London earlier today.


Delegates representing 41 of the Association’s 49 member federations were present for the assembly, which follows two days of meetings, forum sessions and networking events.


The meeting saw the election of a new President, reports from several officials, the admission of a new member federation, and the approval for a plan to extend the EGA’s remit in sustainable golf.


The meeting was chaired by outgoing President, Jan Hubrecht (ENG), who concluded his two-year term at the head of the Association. Hubrecht, who remains on the Executive Committee for two more years as Past President, was replaced by Caroline Huyskes of the Netherlands who received unanimous approval for election as the organisation’s new President.



The AGM was preceded by multiple workshops, including on the topics of Gender Diversity and Environmental Sustainability. Following discussions on the latter, the General Assembly approved plans to extend the work of the EGA’s Working Group on Environmental Sustainability. As part of this plan, Gunnar Håkansson (SWE), General Secretary of the Swedish Golf Federation, was elected as the new chairman of the Working Group, becoming the 11th active member of the EGA’s Executive Committee.


Three other new officers were also elected to the EGA’s Executive committee during the meeting. Joaquín Castillo (ESP), a former EGA Championship Committee member, was nominated as President-Elect and is expected to take over from Huyskes in 2025.


James Crampton (ENG), a former EGA Championship Committee member and current Director of Championships at England Golf, was nominated as GB&I Zone Officer, replacing Geraldine Henry (IRL) who has finished her four-year term.


Jan Visser (NED), who has been a Handicapping & Course Rating Committee member for five years, was elected as the new chairman of the committee, replacing outgoing Richard Cau (ITA). Visser also joins the EGA's Executive Committee in the new role. 


Officials from The R&A, including Grant Moir, Executive Director of Governance, Roger Bathurst, Chairman of the Rules of Golf Committee, and Brian Flemming, Chairman of the Amateur Status Committee, were also invited to address the attendees.


Finally, the assembly voted to accept the application for membership from the Kosovo Golf Federation (KGF), which becomes the 50th member of the EGA.


The meeting was the last official day for Haukur Örn Birgisson (ISL) as an officer of the Association. The retiring Past President finishes a 12-year term with the EGA, having served on the Championship Committee, the Executive committee as North Zone Officer, and as President.