Skip to main content


2012 Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy

Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy
Monte Rei G&CC, Portugal
25-27 April 2012

Europe beat the Asia-Pacific by a resounding 20.5 to 11.5 points to win the Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy at Monte Rei in Portugal.

This was the seventh staging of the biennial three-day men’s amateur international match, first held in 1998, and Europe’s victory in the Algarve means Asia-Pacific’s lead stands at 4-3.The 12-man teams featured some of the world’s leading amateur players including current European Individual Amateur Champion Manuel Trappel of Austria, 2011 Walker Cup player Alan Dunbar of Ireland and Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama, winner of the Asian Amateur Championship in both 2010 and 2011.

Player of the week was Welshman Rhys Enoch who won all five of his matches.

The format was the same as the Ryder Cup, with foursomes and fourballs involving 20 players per session on the first two days and then all players competing in the final day singles over the Jack Nicklaus designed course.Europe led 6-4 at the end of the first day and then took the second-day honours 7.5-2.5 before extending their winning margin to nine points with a 7-5 capture of the singles.Five-time Amateur Champion and former Captain and Secretary of The R&A Sir Michael Bonallack, who was in attendance with Lady Angela throughout the week, presented the trophy to winning captain Andy Morgan of Wales. (Source:

Asia-Pacific Team
Wednesday, 25 April 2012
Total Day 146
Thursday, 26 April 2012
Total Day 22.57.5
Friday, 27 April 2012
Overall Match Result
Benjamin Campbell (New Zealand)Thomas Detry (Belgium)
Seennappa Chikkarangappa ( India)Alan Dunbar ( Ireland)
Jake Higginbottom (Australia)Rhys Enoch (Wales)
Chien-Yao Hung ( Chinese Taipe)Jack Hiluta (England)
Khalin Hitesh Joshi ( India)Daan Huizing ( Netherlands)
Chang-Woo Lee (Korea)Robert Karlsson (Sweden)
Soo-Min Lee (Korea)Robin Kind (Netherlands)
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)Moritz Lampert (Germany)
Mathew Perry (New Zealand)Jon Rahm-Rodriguez (Spain)
Taihei Sato (Japan)Marcel Schneider (Germany)
Cameron Smith (Australia)Ben Taylor (England)
Natipong Srithong (Thailand)Manuel Trappel (Austria)
Non Playing Captain:Non Playing Captain:
Taimur Hassan Amin (Pakistan)Andrew B. Morgan (Wales)

Please visit the Official Website for more information.