Skip to main content


Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro to Host 2025 St Andrews Trophy

Europe’s best amateur players will head to Madrid next year for the 35th edition of the St Andrews Trophy.


Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro will host the match between the Continent of Europe and Great Britain & Ireland’s top male amateur players on 24 and 25 July 2025.


With courses designed by Harry Colt and Robert Trent Jones Sr., the club is considered one of the most prestigious and traditional in Spain and has previously hosted the Spanish Open, the Madrid Open, the European Amateur Team Championship, Eisenhower Trophy, and Vagliano Trophies.


More recently, the club hosted the European Mid-Amateur Championship in 2017 which saw Carlos de Corral (ESP), the Continent of Europe team captain, claim victory.


Since its inauguration in 1956, the contest has generally been dominated by GB&I although the match has been closely contested in recent years. Set to be played at Royal Porthcawl in July of this year, the biennial event will move to odd years when played in Spain in 2025.



The match sees two nine-players teams go head-to-head on two days of match play, with foursomes matches in the morning and singles matches in the afternoon. The EGA selects the Continent of Europe team while The R&A fields the GB&I side.


A number of Europe’s biggest golfing stars have competed in the match throughout the years including Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry, Luke Donald, Henrik Stenson, Sergio Garcia, Colin Montgomerie among many other big names.


The event will be played in Spain for the first time since 1990, when GB&I narrowly defeated the hosts at El Saler in a match which featured both Darren Clarke and Thomas Björn.


In 2025, Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro will be added to a long list of prestigious former venues of the St Andrews Trophy including Kingsbarns, Chantilly, Royal St. George’s, Muirfield, Wentworth, Rosendaelsche, St Andrews and many others.