Skip to main content


Preview: 2021 European Mid-Amateur Championships

The 2021 EGA Individual Championship season is set to begin this week with the European Mid-Amateur Men’s and Ladies’ Championships.


94 men and 50 women will compete for two separate titles at Pula Golf Resort on the island of Mallorca, Spain from Thursday to Saturday (3 to 5 June).


The championships are 54-hole stroke play competitions which take place over three rounds. The top 54 men and top 33 ladies (+ ties) will make the cut after round two.


Hole 16 at Pula Golf Resort


The competitions will be played for the first time with the newly reduced minimum age limit. Formerly reserved for over 30s, the championships are now open to players aged 25 and over on day one of the event. 28 players (18 men and 10 ladies) aged under 30 are on the starting list for this year’s competition.


The ladies’ championship, introduced in 2019 and being contested for the third time, is certain to have a new winner this week. Myrte Eikenaar, who triumphed in the first two championships, will not defend her title in Spain.


Rodrigo Lacerda Soares is the reigning champion in the men’s event. The Swiss player won the trophy on home soil in 2020 at Golf du Domaine Impérial and will defend his title this week.


2020 champions, Myrte Eikenaar (NED) and Rodrido Lacerda Soares (SUI)


There are four other former champions on the men’s starting list at Pula Golf Resort; Carlos de Corral (SPA), the 2017 and 2018 champion, Alexander Koller (GER), the 2014 champion, Bertrand Nöel (FRA), the 2013 champion, and Morten Findsen Schou (DNK) who won the event in 2012.


Other notable players in the field this week include Spain’s Ane Urchegui García, who captained the last two Continent of Europe teams to victory against Great Britain & Ireland in the Junior Vagliano Trophy, and EGA General Secretary and 2018 runner-up, Michael Thannhäuser.


A special memento for the man and lady with the lowest total score in the 40+ age category will be presented for the first time this year.


Tee times and livescoring can be followed on the Men’s and Ladies’ championship webpages.