Skip to main content


Eight European Countries to Face Off in Octagonal Match

Eight European nations will tee it up over the next four days in southern Spain at the annual Costa Ballena Octagonal Match. The match play competition, formerly a quadrangular match which incorporated eight teams for the first time in 2018, sees the teams divided into two groups of four.


In the Blue group, England, Finland, Germany, and hosts and defending champions, Spain, will all play eachother over the first three days. In the Red group, The Netherlands, Italy, Portugal, and Iceland will face-off.


The six-man teams will play three foursomes matches in the morning and six singles matches in the afternoon. The top team in each group following the first three days will then compete in the championshp match, while the two second placed teams will compete for the bronze medals and so on. 


Seven players from the Continent of Europe Jacques Léglise Trohpy team tee it up this week. Jerry Ji and Kiet Van der Weele represent the Netherlands. David Puig and Eduard Rousaud, represent Spain. Saku Tuusa and Eemil Alajärvi represent Finland, and Daniel Da Costa Rodrigues represents Portugal.


Sakke Siltala of Finland and Luc Breuer of Germany are also competing this week. The pair represented Europe in Hong Kong last year at the APGC Junior Championship, where Siltala won the event alongside Caitlin Whitehead for Europe Team 1, and shot the lowest score in the individual round. 


Draws and results can be followed each day below: