Skip to main content


Racing Club de France Win European Men's Club Trophy

24 national-champion golf clubs and defending champions, Golf Saint Germain en Laye, competed over three days at Golf du Médoc Resort in Southern France for the 43rd edition of the European Men’s Club Trophy. The total of the two-best individual stroke play scores from the three-player teams each day counted for the final aggregate score.

Racing Club de France La Boulie, clinched the trophy with a 12-under-par total of 414 (-12). The victory marks the fifth time the French club has won the championship, making them the most successful club in the history of the event. The team consisted of Fréderic Lacroix, Sebastien Gandon, and Hugo Rouillon. Lacroix and Gandon both also won the trophy for Racing Club de France in 2015. 

Irish club, Galway Golf Club, finished 10 shots behind the French club with a total of 424 (-2), whilst English club, City of Newcastle Golf Club, finished one further back with a score of 425 (-1).

Adrian Dumont de Chassart, who won the European Young Masters last year, tied for the lowest individual score with Lacroix on 208 (-5). The two players also tied for the lowest round of the championship with rounds of four-under-par 67. Despite Dumont de Chassart’s efforts, the Belgian’s club, Royal Waterloo Golf Club, missed out on a medal by one shot after finishing with 426 (Par).

Defending champions, Golf de Saint Germain en Laye, could only manage a thirteenth place finish this year after scoring a total of 438 (+12).

As defending champions, Racing Club de France qualify automatically for next year’s championship.