Skip to main content


Greece & Poland Win Team Shield Titles

Greece have won the European Mens' Team Shield Championship title at the V Golf Club, Vilnius.

On day one, the Greek team finished fourth in the stroke play qualifying to earn a quarter-final match with the hosts, Lithuania. A 2-1 victory progressed them to the semi-finals, where they faced number-one seeds, Malta. 

Despite losing the foursomes match, Greece won both singles matches to earn a spot in the gold-medal match against Cyprus. Nikos Palamiotis & Christos Pantazidis scored the first point in the final, winning the foursomes match by two holes. Christofer Kalpakas then drew the score level with victory in the first singles match, meaning the championship would be decided by the last match on the course. 

Vasilis Koumpakis claimed the winning point for the Greek side with a 3&1 victory, earning Greece their second title in the event. Greece is now the only country to have won the championship on two occassions, out of the five played so far.

In the match for third place, number-one seeds, Malta, defeated Lichtenstein to take home the bronze medals.

The full results from all matches can be found on the championship webpage.

In the ladies' event, the Polish team claimed the title.

After dominating the stroke play qualifying, finishing with a 17-stroke advantage over second-placed Bulgaria, the Polish team earned a bye straight into the semi-finals. Playing against Liechtenstein for a spot in the final, the Poles claimed two big wins, one on the 13th and one on the 15th, to secure a matchup with second-seeds, Bulgaria, for the championship.

In the final, Dominika Gradecka & Marysia Zrodouska put the first point on the board for Poland with a 5&4 victory in the foursomes. Soon after, Dorota Zalewska claimed victory by the same margin in the second singles match, securing Poland the two points needed to earn the ladies' team shield title for the first time. 

In the match for third place, Latvia defeated Liechtenstein to earn the bronze medals.

The full results from all matches can be found on the championship webpage.