

St Andrews Trophy



Princes GC, England 20-21 July 2016

CONTINENT OF EUROPE TEAM SELECTIONS

Prince's Golf Club in England, will host the biennially-awarded St Andrews Trophy's 31st edition from 20-21 July, 2016. The Continent of Europe Team will attempt to win the trophy, which they won for the first time in the British Isles in 2012 at Portmarnock Golf Club, Ireland, against the best amateur players from Great Britain and Ireland.

The continental team will comprise the following players.



ausanne, July 2016: The 2016 St Andrews Trophy Selection Committee, led by non-playing Captain Yves Hofstetter (SUI), who played in the St Andrews Trophy in1976 himself, is pleased to announce the nine highly-talented players who have been selected to represent the Continent of Europe against Great Britain and Ireland at Prince's Golf Club in England from 20-21 July, 2016.

The players have been selected based on their R&A/USGA World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and high-level golfing performances. Special attention was paid to match play results, particularly those attained in the European Golf Association's (EGA) International Matches and European Team Championships

The six 2016 Bonallack Trophy team members Luca Cianchetti (ITA), Stefano Mazzoli (ITA), Mario Galiano (ESP), Ivan Cantero Gutierrez (ESP), Jeroen Krietemeijer (NED), and Robin Petersson (SWE) are joined by Guido Migliozzi (ITA), Matthias Schwab (AUT) and Victor Veyret (FRA) for the upcoming international match.

Cianchetti, winner of this year's Coppa d'Oro Citta di Roma won the Abruzzo Open presented by Axa, a professional event on the Alps Tour, in 2015 and added victories in the Trofeo Glauco Lolli Ghetti and the South of England Open Amateur Championship to his C.V. in the same year.

Mazzoli, the reigning European Amateur Champion, placed third in the Gran Premio di Monticello and in the Italian International Amateur Championship in 2015. In 2014, he enjoyed a victory in the Italian U18 Trofeo Silvio Marazza and was selected for the Jacques Léglise Trophy.

The two Italians, are joined by compatriot Migliozzi, the 2016 Portuguese Amateur Champion who qualified for the quarter-finals in the Spanish International Amateur and finished runner-up in the Italian International Amateur only a few weeks later. Migliozzi already gained international match experience in the 2015 Jacques Léglise Trophy.

The three EGA South Zone representatives are accompanied by the Spaniards Gutierrez and Galiano. Gutierrez, the 2016 French International champion, reached the quarter-finals in The Amateur Championship 2016. The 2014 Junior Ryder Cup and 2013 Jacques Léglise Trophy player won the Campeonato Absoluto del Pais Vasco, the Campeonato de Canarias and was semi-finalist in the Spanish Amateur Championship in 2015.

His compatriot, Galiano, won the Copa Baleares, European Nations Cup Individual and Copa Nacional Puerta de Hierro in 2015. Galiano can look back at considerable international match experience, being part of the Bonallack and St Andrews Trophy teams in 2016 and 2014 and having played the Jacques Léglise Trophy in 2012 and 2013. Recently, he could add two consecutive wins over the professional field on the Gecko Tour to his sporting C.V. and a second and third place in the Campeonato de Barcelona and Copa de Andalucia, respectively.

The EGA South Zone will also be represented by Frenchman Victor Veyret, who is the reigning Italian International Amateur Champion. Veyret finished runner-up in the Coupe Frayssineau Mouchy, third in the French International Amateur Championship (Murat Cup) and fourth in the St Andrews Links Trophy this year. In 2015, he won the Trophee des Regions and became third in the German Boys Open.

Schwab (AUT) can look back on two third place finishes in the current season, one in the NCAA I and the other in the Mason Rudolph Championship, where he ended on top of the leaderboard last year. In 2015, he also won the Swiss International Championship and tied first in The Carmel Cup, additionally to a couple of runner-up finishes. The Austrian gained international match experience in the 2012 Jacques Léglise Trophy and last year's Palmer Cup.

Jeroen Krietemeijer (NED) and Robin Petersson (SWE), who both won all of their three matches in the Bonallack Trophy in Portugal earlier this year, complete the 9-man continental team. Krietemeijer won last year's Spanish International Amateur Championship after finishing runner-up in the 2014 Dutch National Strokeplay Championship. Petersson, a player mainly focusing on tournaments in the U.S., won the 2016 MEAC Championship and finished third in the Linger Longer Invitational after having won the Kiawah Classic by Aramark, the Wolfpack Intercollegiate and the MEAC Championship in the previous year. In the 2016 European Amateur Team Championship he helped Sweden take home the

Past match results: www.ega-golf.ch/content/st-andrews-trophy-0

For further information, please contact:

Arnaud Baratcabal

Championship Manager, European Golf Association

Tel: +41 21 785 70 60 Email: info@ega-golf.ch

