



## Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy 2010 21-23 April 2010 Karnataka Golf Association, Bengaluru, India



(non-playing Captain)

## TEAM EUROPE Selections



In two months' time, the European Team will comprise the following players to compete against the best amateur players from the Asia/Pacific region for the biennially-awarded Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy.



The players have been selected with guidance from the R&A's World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) and the players' national coaches and officials as well as by regarding high-level performances. Attention was paid to match play results, particularly those attained in the European Golf Association's (EGA's) International Matches and European Team events.

Selectors feel this is an exceptionally strong team, which includes the current European champion, Victor Dubuisson (FRA) and runner-up, Ross Kellett (SCO). Jesper Kennegard (SWE) lends his experience from one St Andrews Trophy (SAT) and two Jacques Léglise Trophy (JLT) appearances, in which he has won all six of his singles matches. 2009 German International Champion, Max Kieffer (GER) and recently-crowned Argentinian Amateur and Junior Orange Bowl Champion, Romain Wattel (FRA), have also performed well in two JLTs for the Continent of Europe. 2008 JLT player, Carlos Pigem (ESP) has had recent success on French soil, winning the Grand Prix des Landes-Hossegor and Biarritz Cup.

On this occasion, they will join some of their former GB&I JLT and SAT adversaries under a united Flag of Europe. Among them are English international foursomes duo, former Lytham Trophy winner, Matt Haines, and 2008 Amateur Finalist, 2009 Amateur Quarter Finalist and Scottish Stroke Play Champion, Tommy Fleetwood. East of Scotland, Tennant Cup and North-east Open winner, James Byrne (SCO), shall join compatriot, Kellett, who, apart from narrowly missing the European Title, took second in the recent Argentinian Amateur. Paul Cutler completes the GB&I quintet, with his undefeated role in clinching Ireland's 2008 European Team Title, further undefeated performance in 2009, 2009 East of Ireland win and Willie Gill Perpetual Award (Irish senior order of merit).

The EGA's North (Nordic) Zone will also be well represented. All have

accumulated the majority of their WAGR points in US college events. Standout performances include Kennegard's UH Hilo Invitational and NCAA West Regional wins. The players have also shown their talents east of the Pond, with Kalle Samooja (FIN) winning the 2009 Murat Cup (French Amateur Stroke Play) and 2009 Finnish Amateur. Knut Borsheim is a Norwegian international, a JLT veteran, an All-America honouree and a PAC-10 Team winner. Kennegard, Borsheim and Byrne are Arizona State University teammates.

Former EGA President and current Chairman of Golf Development Wales, Andrew B. Morgan will captain Europe's title defense of the 2008 previous edition, hosted by the prestigious Valderrama Golf Club in southern Spain. Europe currently leads in matches won since the event's 1998 inception, 4-2.

This year, the team travels to the Karnataka Golf Association in southern India, where the three days of play will comprise 5 morning fourball matches followed by 5 afternoon foursomes matches on days one and two and 12 singles matches on the final day.

Event namesake, Sir Michael Bonallack is a British amateur golfer of outstanding repute. He won The Amateur Championship and the English Amateur five times each and the Brabazon Trophy four times. He was a member of nine Walker Cup teams and played in the Eisenhower Trophy seven times. He was leading amateur at The Open in 1968 and 1971. He was also Secretary of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews from 1984 to 1999.

For further information, please contact: Richard Heath, EGA Championship Manager Email: info@ega-golf.ch Tel: +41 21 785 70 60



