Skip to main content


2004 International European Seniors' Championship - Ladies & Men

International European Seniors Championship 2004 - Ladies & Men

The International European Seniors Championships took place from 10-12 June 2004 on the magnificent course of Golf Club La Baule, in France.


Participation of 150 players (over 100 players had to be balloted), 102 men and 48 ladies representing 14 nations.


Senior Ladies:

The Trophy went to Maj-Britt Heden (Swe) with the excellent score of 73-74-73, followed by Rita Ruland (Ger), second with 74-73-76 and third Cécilia Mourgue d'Algue  (Fra) 74-74-76.


Anne Lanrezac, EGA Executive Committee, handing over Trophy to the winner, Maj-Britt Heden



Rita Ruland (Ger)   -   Maj-Britt Heden (Swe)   -   Cécilia Mourgue d'Algue (Fra)



Senior Men:    

The Men's event saw the victory of David J. Smith (Scotland, 71-72-70) for the second consecutive year, after an exciting play-off, when he defeated Roy Smethurst (England 71-73-69) on the 5th extra hole. Per Hildebrand (Sweden 73-73-72) finished third.

Gerard G. O'Brien, EGA Championship Committee and Jack Lynch, EGA Executive Committee handing over the Trophy to winner, David J. Smith


Jack Lynch EGA Executive Committee and Gaetan Mourge d'Algue, winner of the title for the above 65 years



Nations' Cup:


Marie-Christine Ubald-Bocquet, EGA Championship Committee handing over Trophy to winning team of Germany composed of Edeltraud Jacob, Rita Ruland and Erika Annison


Jack Lynch, EGA Executive Committee, handing over Trophy to winning team of Scotland composed of Harvey Brown, Brian Grieve and David J. Smith



Complete Results - Nations' Cup


From left to right :
Cécilia Mourge d'Algue, Gaetan Mourgue d'Algue, Erika Annison, Edeltraud Jacob, Rita Ruland, Maj-Britt Heden, David J. Smith, Harvey Brown, Brian Grieve, Per Hildebrand, Roy Smethurst