Skip to main content

Bonallack Trophy

QA Qatar



The Bonallack Trophy is played between two teams of twelve male amateur golfers representing Europe and Asia-Pacific. There are three days of play. The first two days comprise five foursomes matches each morning and five four-ball matches each afternoon. On the final day, all twelve team players compete in singles match play. A win counts as one point, a half yields half a point and a lost match returns zero. In the event of a tie, the trophy shall be retained by the holders.


Sir Michael Bonallack (born 31 December 1934) is an English amateur golfer who was one of the leading administrators in world golf in the late 20th century. He has an exceptional amateur record in golf. He won the British Boys Championship in 1952 and, remaining an amateur in the era when professional domination of the sport became firmly entrenched, he went on to win the Amateur Championship and the English Amateur Championships five times each and the English Amateur Stroke Play Championships four times. He was a member of nine Walker Cup teams and played in the Eisenhower Trophy seven times. His best finish at the Open Championship was eleventh in 1959. He was the leading amateur at the Open in 1968 and 1971. Sir Michael was Secretary of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews from 1984 to 1999 and Captain of the Royal and Ancient in 2000. He has also been Chairman of the PGA of Great Britain and Ireland (1976-81), Chairman of the Golf Foundation (1977-82), and President of the English Golf Union (1982). He also had spells as President of the One Armed Golfers Society, the British and International Greenkeepers Association, and the Professional Golfers Association of Europe and as Chairman of the advisory committee for the Official World Golf Rankings. He received an OBE for services to golf in 1971 and was knighted in 1998. In 1972, he was voted the Bob Jones Award, the highest honour given by the United States Golf Association in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf. He has received numerous honours from golfing organisations around the world, culminating in his induction into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2000.


The World Amateur Golf Ranking will be used as the main reference in addition to a number of captain’s picks. According to the match conditions, no more than two players may be selected from the same country.



63 %
6 m/s
38 °C / 100 °F
Doha Golf Club
QA Qatar

The Doha Golf Club was built from 1994 to 1996 and opened in 1997.

The Doha Golf Club was built from 1994 to 1996 and opened in 1997. It includes an 18 hole Championship Course, a 9 hole Academy Course, an enormous driving range and short game practice areas, 8 artificial lakes, graceful landscaping and a beautiful clubhouse designed in the old traditional Arabic style.

The golf course is designed by Peter Harradine. 

The 18 hole championship course is a tough course from the back tees and offers many strategic and heroic holes where the scratch golfer can test his skills. The course has been designed with 2 starting and finishing holes which maximizes both the playing flexibility and the number of daily playing rounds because of the returning 9 features.

Our signature hole is hole 16. The line off the tee for the longer hitters is over the large rock formation, which hides your view of the green. Taking this option can set you up with a relatively easy birdie chance but can also set you up for an easy double bogey if your ball hits the rock. The percentage shot is right of the rock, which will leave a short iron shot in to the green. The designer created this hole around an existing jebel which makes it the most unique looking hole on the course and one of Harradine's best designed holes. 

Doha Golf Club
P.O Box 13530 Doha, Qatar
Phone: +974 44960764
Fax: +974 44834790


More detail


Show all

There is no available multimedia for this event yet!