Skip to main content


Annual General Meeting Held Digitally

The EGA's 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) was scheduled to be held in Rome, although amidst the second wave of the COVID pandemic in Europe, the decision was taken to cancel the in-person meeting and hold the AGM 'virtually'.


On November 14, 92 participants from across the continent connected to a webinar hosted by the EGA's Executive Committee and chaired by EGA President, Haukur Örn Birgisson.


In total, 42 of 47 member federations were represented by at least one delegate, with past EGA presidents, and officials from the R&A also listening in.


The assembly voted on a number of propositions, including small changes to the EGA's constitution, and the relocation of the EGA's official seat from Luxembourg to Lausanne, all of which were approved by the members.


The delegates also voted to accept the application of membership from the San Marino Golf and Pitch & Putt Federation, taking the EGA's number of members to 48.


The attendees heard reports from the chariman of the Championship Committee, John Roger Jones, the retiring Honorary Treasurer, Caroline Huyskes, the Handicap & Course Rating Committee Chairman, Richard Cau, and the Championship Manager, Arnaud Baratcabal.


Those listening in also heard from Achim Battermann, who was elected as the EGA's new Honorary Treasurer during the meeting, and joins the EGA Executive Comittee with immediate effect.


The EGA's 2021 AGM is set to be held in Reykjavik, Iceland next November.